Battery Relocation - Cincy Street Scene
Forum Garage  




Remember Me?
Go Back   Cincy Street Scene > Automotive > Tech > Engine Tech

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-30-2009, 01:22 PM   #1
4DooR_SuprA
Fancy Lancer
 
4DooR_SuprA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Cincy, oHIo
Posts: 2,404
4DooR_SuprA is just really nice4DooR_SuprA is just really nice4DooR_SuprA is just really nice4DooR_SuprA is just really nice4DooR_SuprA is just really nice4DooR_SuprA is just really nice4DooR_SuprA is just really nice4DooR_SuprA is just really nice4DooR_SuprA is just really nice4DooR_SuprA is just really nice4DooR_SuprA is just really nice
Battery Relocation
Hey guys I know this seems minial but I want to move my battery to the trunk.

What sort of line or cable am I going to need? Any fittings or whatever? If anyone has done this let me know what you need or how you did it.

thanks in advance.
4DooR_SuprA is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-30-2009, 01:41 PM   #2
WhiteT
White Trash Mod
 
WhiteT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Bright, IN
Posts: 8,941
WhiteT is a splendid one to beholdWhiteT is a splendid one to beholdWhiteT is a splendid one to beholdWhiteT is a splendid one to beholdWhiteT is a splendid one to beholdWhiteT is a splendid one to beholdWhiteT is a splendid one to beholdWhiteT is a splendid one to beholdWhiteT is a splendid one to beholdWhiteT is a splendid one to beholdWhiteT is a splendid one to behold
I ran 1/0 I got from a welding supply company from the starter to a kill switch. then another 1/0 from the kill switch to the battery. I used crimp on ends from KOI. For the alternator, I ran a 6 gauge wire form the output to the battery directly. Every car is going to be different here. My alternator uses an excite wire to keep it charging. That excite wire is going to a 12 volt ignition source. All the power from the car comes off the starter (this is the factory setup. I kept it this way to keep it simple.) The fuel pump gets it's power right after the kill switch.

My setup works great. I have almost no voltage drop from the battery to the starter and no voltage drop from the alt. to the battery. The car shuts off everytime if the kill switch is activated.

Here is a pic of the trunk. The kill switch has a arm that goes to the outside of the car to keep it NHRA legal. The arm can be removed for normal street driving.



I like the welding cable. It is very flexible and has worked very well for me.
__________________

[email protected] with the v6

Update: Turbo LSbandwagon build in process
WhiteT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2009, 01:41 PM   #3
Kevin Doe
Kevin Knows
 
Kevin Doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Fairfield, OH
Age: 38
Posts: 18,588
Kevin Doe is a splendid one to beholdKevin Doe is a splendid one to beholdKevin Doe is a splendid one to beholdKevin Doe is a splendid one to beholdKevin Doe is a splendid one to beholdKevin Doe is a splendid one to beholdKevin Doe is a splendid one to beholdKevin Doe is a splendid one to beholdKevin Doe is a splendid one to beholdKevin Doe is a splendid one to beholdKevin Doe is a splendid one to behold
Send a message via AIM to Kevin Doe
I'd use a 1/0 cable. Ground it to the chassis there. Use an already existing bolt hole (not some bullshti screw). Make sure the ground is very secure. Run that line to wherever your original battery cable was, and hook them together. There are cleaner ways, but I wouldn't recommend it for someone asking how to do it.
__________________
Steamroller
Kevin Doe is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Old 03-30-2009, 09:07 PM   #4
4DooR_SuprA
Fancy Lancer
 
4DooR_SuprA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Cincy, oHIo
Posts: 2,404
4DooR_SuprA is just really nice4DooR_SuprA is just really nice4DooR_SuprA is just really nice4DooR_SuprA is just really nice4DooR_SuprA is just really nice4DooR_SuprA is just really nice4DooR_SuprA is just really nice4DooR_SuprA is just really nice4DooR_SuprA is just really nice4DooR_SuprA is just really nice4DooR_SuprA is just really nice
Thanks guys. I will see if I can find some of that cable your refering to.
4DooR_SuprA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2009, 09:32 PM   #5
ahmed
rev rev rev
 
ahmed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: cleveland
Age: 33
Posts: 2,390
ahmed will become famous soon enoughahmed will become famous soon enoughahmed will become famous soon enough
they sell kits.. try summit racing.
ahmed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2009, 09:35 PM   #6
WhiteT
White Trash Mod
 
WhiteT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Bright, IN
Posts: 8,941
WhiteT is a splendid one to beholdWhiteT is a splendid one to beholdWhiteT is a splendid one to beholdWhiteT is a splendid one to beholdWhiteT is a splendid one to beholdWhiteT is a splendid one to beholdWhiteT is a splendid one to beholdWhiteT is a splendid one to beholdWhiteT is a splendid one to beholdWhiteT is a splendid one to beholdWhiteT is a splendid one to behold
Quote:
Originally Posted by ahmed View Post
they sell kits.. try summit racing.
Those kits suck imo. I looked into them and the biggest gauge wire was 2 and 4.

I got about $200 in mine and I really misestimated (word? lol) the length of wire I needed. Ended up with about 6' of 1/0 left. I ended running ground wires everywhere with the left overs...my car was always plagued with grounding issues...not no more:)
WhiteT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2009, 06:34 AM   #7
Walter
4cyl & fart can
 
Walter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 2,303
Walter is a glorious beacon of lightWalter is a glorious beacon of lightWalter is a glorious beacon of lightWalter is a glorious beacon of lightWalter is a glorious beacon of lightWalter is a glorious beacon of lightWalter is a glorious beacon of lightWalter is a glorious beacon of lightWalter is a glorious beacon of lightWalter is a glorious beacon of lightWalter is a glorious beacon of light
Quote:
Originally Posted by WhiteT View Post
Those kits suck imo. I looked into them and the biggest gauge wire was 2 and 4.

I got about $200 in mine and I really misestimated (word? lol) the length of wire I needed. Ended up with about 6' of 1/0 left. I ended running ground wires everywhere with the left overs...my car was always plagued with grounding issues...not no more:)
http://store.summitracing.com/partde...5&autoview=sku
Walter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2010, 01:37 PM   #8
jfisher
#4
 
jfisher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Eastside
Age: 35
Posts: 5,580
jfisher is a glorious beacon of lightjfisher is a glorious beacon of lightjfisher is a glorious beacon of lightjfisher is a glorious beacon of lightjfisher is a glorious beacon of lightjfisher is a glorious beacon of lightjfisher is a glorious beacon of lightjfisher is a glorious beacon of lightjfisher is a glorious beacon of lightjfisher is a glorious beacon of lightjfisher is a glorious beacon of light
Send a message via AIM to jfisher Send a message via MSN to jfisher
Quote:
Originally Posted by WhiteT View Post
I ran 1/0 I got from a welding supply company from the starter to a kill switch. then another 1/0 from the kill switch to the battery. I used crimp on ends from KOI. For the alternator, I ran a 6 gauge wire form the output to the battery directly. Every car is going to be different here. My alternator uses an excite wire to keep it charging. That excite wire is going to a 12 volt ignition source. All the power from the car comes off the starter (this is the factory setup. I kept it this way to keep it simple.) The fuel pump gets it's power right after the kill switch.

My setup works great. I have almost no voltage drop from the battery to the starter and no voltage drop from the alt. to the battery. The car shuts off everytime if the kill switch is activated.

Here is a pic of the trunk. The kill switch has a arm that goes to the outside of the car to keep it NHRA legal. The arm can be removed for normal street driving.



I like the welding cable. It is very flexible and has worked very well for me.
What welding supply company did you use? I'm looking for the same thing, I would like to find about 25' of Red and about 4' of black, 1/0.

Edit: I called weldco and they will sell 30' of black for $74. They can order red but you have to order it by the spool, which I think he said was 250' lol.
__________________


2013 Cruze Eco 1.4T 6MT
1993 Mustang
2007 Yamaha R1

Last edited by jfisher; 11-02-2010 at 01:49 PM..
jfisher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2010, 02:18 PM   #9
ej1bmx
Haz 0 El Es Ex
 
ej1bmx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: cincinnati
Age: 34
Posts: 3,949
ej1bmx is a splendid one to beholdej1bmx is a splendid one to beholdej1bmx is a splendid one to beholdej1bmx is a splendid one to beholdej1bmx is a splendid one to beholdej1bmx is a splendid one to beholdej1bmx is a splendid one to beholdej1bmx is a splendid one to beholdej1bmx is a splendid one to beholdej1bmx is a splendid one to beholdej1bmx is a splendid one to behold
Is it 'safe' to use a regular battery in an interior compartment?
__________________
ej1bmx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2010, 02:50 PM   #10
coolnick
is a ricer
 
coolnick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Anderson
Age: 45
Posts: 19,415
coolnick has much to be proud ofcoolnick has much to be proud ofcoolnick has much to be proud ofcoolnick has much to be proud ofcoolnick has much to be proud ofcoolnick has much to be proud ofcoolnick has much to be proud ofcoolnick has much to be proud ofcoolnick has much to be proud ofcoolnick has much to be proud ofcoolnick has much to be proud of
Quote:
Originally Posted by ej1bmx View Post
Is it 'safe' to use a regular battery in an interior compartment?
The short answer is no. When the voltage regulator failed on my DSM alternator it starting charging at 17.9 volts or some shit like that and boiled my Optima in about 3 minutes. Spewed battery acid all over the engine bay. Had that happened in my hatch/trunk I would be a dead mothafucka now lol.

Zac, I have some 2 ga and a 300a fuse at the house if you want to give that a shot. That is how I was going to do it in the Evo. Sure 1/0 is better, but the difference is hardly measurable vs the increased cost. If you are hell bent on using 1/0 check www.knukonceptz.com for great prices on badass cables.



__________________
Eat shit ricers
coolnick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2010, 02:55 PM   #11
jfisher
#4
 
jfisher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Eastside
Age: 35
Posts: 5,580
jfisher is a glorious beacon of lightjfisher is a glorious beacon of lightjfisher is a glorious beacon of lightjfisher is a glorious beacon of lightjfisher is a glorious beacon of lightjfisher is a glorious beacon of lightjfisher is a glorious beacon of lightjfisher is a glorious beacon of lightjfisher is a glorious beacon of lightjfisher is a glorious beacon of lightjfisher is a glorious beacon of light
Send a message via AIM to jfisher Send a message via MSN to jfisher
Quote:
Originally Posted by coolnick View Post
The short answer is no. When the voltage regulator failed on my DSM alternator it starting charging at 17.9 volts or some shit like that and boiled my Optima in about 3 minutes. Spewed battery acid all over the engine bay. Had that happened in my hatch/trunk I would be a dead mothafucka now lol.

Zac, I have some 2 ga and a 300a fuse at the house if you want to give that a shot. That is how I was going to do it in the Evo. Sure 1/0 is better, but the difference is hardly measurable vs the increased cost. If you are hell bent on using 1/0 check www.knukonceptz.com for great prices on badass cables.
Using that website, which type of cable would you recomend using for a battery relocation?

I'm going to assume it's under the power wire section, but then there are 3 different types at that point.

Last edited by jfisher; 11-02-2010 at 02:59 PM..
jfisher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2010, 03:01 PM   #12
coolnick
is a ricer
 
coolnick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Anderson
Age: 45
Posts: 19,415
coolnick has much to be proud ofcoolnick has much to be proud ofcoolnick has much to be proud ofcoolnick has much to be proud ofcoolnick has much to be proud ofcoolnick has much to be proud ofcoolnick has much to be proud ofcoolnick has much to be proud ofcoolnick has much to be proud ofcoolnick has much to be proud ofcoolnick has much to be proud of
Quote:
Originally Posted by jfisher View Post
Using that website, which type of cable would you recomend using for a battery relocation?

I'm going to assume it's under the power wire section, but then there are 3 different types at that point.
I dunno, looks like their normal 1/0 cable is completely outfuckingrageously priced now. That KCA cable in their power wire section looks cheap, but then again it's not 100% copper. It might be worth giving them a call, or just buying my shit lol.



coolnick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2010, 03:04 PM   #13
jfisher
#4
 
jfisher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Eastside
Age: 35
Posts: 5,580
jfisher is a glorious beacon of lightjfisher is a glorious beacon of lightjfisher is a glorious beacon of lightjfisher is a glorious beacon of lightjfisher is a glorious beacon of lightjfisher is a glorious beacon of lightjfisher is a glorious beacon of lightjfisher is a glorious beacon of lightjfisher is a glorious beacon of lightjfisher is a glorious beacon of lightjfisher is a glorious beacon of light
Send a message via AIM to jfisher Send a message via MSN to jfisher
Quote:
Originally Posted by coolnick View Post
I dunno, looks like their normal 1/0 cable is completely outfuckingrageously priced now. That KCA cable in their power wire section looks cheap, but then again it's not 100% copper. It might be worth giving them a call, or just buying my shit lol.
I just called him, he said the 1/0 KCA should be fine if the car has less than a 250 amp draw.

That's better pricing and the color I wanted, thanks for the link.
jfisher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2010, 03:07 PM   #14
coolnick
is a ricer
 
coolnick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Anderson
Age: 45
Posts: 19,415
coolnick has much to be proud ofcoolnick has much to be proud ofcoolnick has much to be proud ofcoolnick has much to be proud ofcoolnick has much to be proud ofcoolnick has much to be proud ofcoolnick has much to be proud ofcoolnick has much to be proud ofcoolnick has much to be proud ofcoolnick has much to be proud ofcoolnick has much to be proud of
Quote:
Originally Posted by jfisher View Post
I just called him, he said the 1/0 KCA should be fine if the car has less than a 250 amp draw.

That's better pricing and the color I wanted, thanks for the link.
My 2ga is all copper and red. And I have a 300a fuse. And a lug to use for a ground with some 4ga black to use there.



coolnick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2010, 03:09 PM   #15
Ampypants
Man whore club
 
Ampypants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Cincinnati
Age: 35
Posts: 4,511
Ampypants is a name known to allAmpypants is a name known to allAmpypants is a name known to allAmpypants is a name known to allAmpypants is a name known to allAmpypants is a name known to allAmpypants is a name known to allAmpypants is a name known to allAmpypants is a name known to allAmpypants is a name known to allAmpypants is a name known to all
Send a message via AIM to Ampypants
Just so everyone knows, I have bulk wire here at spade anything from a 1/0 gauge and up. I can sell it by the foot, or as a kit.
__________________
www.spademade.com
Ampypants is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2010, 03:13 PM   #16
coolnick
is a ricer
 
coolnick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Anderson
Age: 45
Posts: 19,415
coolnick has much to be proud ofcoolnick has much to be proud ofcoolnick has much to be proud ofcoolnick has much to be proud ofcoolnick has much to be proud ofcoolnick has much to be proud ofcoolnick has much to be proud ofcoolnick has much to be proud ofcoolnick has much to be proud ofcoolnick has much to be proud ofcoolnick has much to be proud of
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ampypants View Post
Just so everyone knows, I have bulk wire here at spade anything from a 1/0 gauge and up. I can sell it by the foot, or as a kit.
You forgot the part about it being eleventy billion dollars lol.



coolnick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2010, 03:16 PM   #17
Ampypants
Man whore club
 
Ampypants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Cincinnati
Age: 35
Posts: 4,511
Ampypants is a name known to allAmpypants is a name known to allAmpypants is a name known to allAmpypants is a name known to allAmpypants is a name known to allAmpypants is a name known to allAmpypants is a name known to allAmpypants is a name known to allAmpypants is a name known to allAmpypants is a name known to allAmpypants is a name known to all
Send a message via AIM to Ampypants
Quote:
Originally Posted by coolnick View Post
You forgot the part about it being eleventy billion dollars lol.
Yeah you are right, $2 bucks a foot.....

wwwoooo wweeee
Ampypants is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2010, 03:16 PM   #18
jfisher
#4
 
jfisher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Eastside
Age: 35
Posts: 5,580
jfisher is a glorious beacon of lightjfisher is a glorious beacon of lightjfisher is a glorious beacon of lightjfisher is a glorious beacon of lightjfisher is a glorious beacon of lightjfisher is a glorious beacon of lightjfisher is a glorious beacon of lightjfisher is a glorious beacon of lightjfisher is a glorious beacon of lightjfisher is a glorious beacon of lightjfisher is a glorious beacon of light
Send a message via AIM to jfisher Send a message via MSN to jfisher
Quote:
Originally Posted by coolnick View Post
You forgot the part about it being eleventy billion dollars lol.
lol.

Out of curiosity Jeff, how much per foot of the 1/0?

Edit: FACK... Just ordered from knuconcepts and had to pay shipping and tax....

I called Audio Sensations and they wanted $8.95 per ft....

Last edited by jfisher; 11-02-2010 at 03:18 PM..
jfisher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2010, 03:21 PM   #19
Ampypants
Man whore club
 
Ampypants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Cincinnati
Age: 35
Posts: 4,511
Ampypants is a name known to allAmpypants is a name known to allAmpypants is a name known to allAmpypants is a name known to allAmpypants is a name known to allAmpypants is a name known to allAmpypants is a name known to allAmpypants is a name known to allAmpypants is a name known to allAmpypants is a name known to allAmpypants is a name known to all
Send a message via AIM to Ampypants
Quote:
Originally Posted by jfisher View Post
lol.

Out of curiosity Jeff, how much per foot of the 1/0?

Edit: FACK... Just ordered from knuconcepts and had to pay shipping and tax....

I called Audio Sensations and they wanted $8.95 per ft....
How much do ya need buddy? I may have some leftover stuff you could just have if ya dont need a ton of it.

4ga is $2 a foot, or I can get the high end 1/0 gauge for $7 a foot
Ampypants is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2010, 03:24 PM   #20
jfisher
#4
 
jfisher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Eastside
Age: 35
Posts: 5,580
jfisher is a glorious beacon of lightjfisher is a glorious beacon of lightjfisher is a glorious beacon of lightjfisher is a glorious beacon of lightjfisher is a glorious beacon of lightjfisher is a glorious beacon of lightjfisher is a glorious beacon of lightjfisher is a glorious beacon of lightjfisher is a glorious beacon of lightjfisher is a glorious beacon of lightjfisher is a glorious beacon of light
Send a message via AIM to jfisher Send a message via MSN to jfisher
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ampypants View Post
How much do ya need buddy? I may have some leftover stuff you could just have if ya dont need a ton of it.

4ga is $2 a foot, or I can get the high end 1/0 gauge for $7 a foot
Ahhh, yea, I wanted 1/0 and it was $1.95 a foot from knu.

I needed 25' of 1/0 in red and 5' of 1/0 in black. Same as the OP, I'm relocating the battery.
jfisher is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Ad Management by RedTyger