1987 Shelby Charger Build log - Cincy Street Scene
Forum Garage  

Remember Me?
Go Back   Cincy Street Scene > Automotive > Car Specific Forums > Dodge / Mopar Discussion

Old 10-31-2012, 04:41 PM   #1
Purpleskunk
CSS newbie

Purpleskunk is on a distinguished road
1987 Shelby Charger Build log
Ok guys, I am going to set this thread up for when I actually get my lazy ass moving again!

So as some of you may know already, I have a 1987 Dodge Shelby Charger, and its been in my family since it was new!

Anyway, I have been driving it everyday since I was 16 years old, and now it's time to start building it the way I want it!

It started life as a black/silver turbo 1 non-intercooled 5 spd. It has since been worked on only slightly, normal maintanence mods like new vacuum lines and replacement parts. Some mods like a boost controller and such but nothing major. It's a fun little car and still turns some heads now and then.

Now for the plan:

Over this winter and some time into spring, I will be working to build an 89 turbo 2 motor and a new transmission to put into it. Mods will include upgraded injectors, intercooler, and stage 2 ecu. I will be looking to run about 15lbs of boost and hit mid 13's. For those of you thinking that isn't that impressive, mind you this car from the factory was a 16 second car, and all the parts will be 1980's replacements. There will most likely be no porting of any of the manifolds, etc. This will basically be a budgeted build using factory parts and stock 89 internals. The 13 second 1/4's will be on a conservative set up and with no professional aftermarket tuning.

Actual mods and pics will follow as it progresses...

Well, I will keep you guys informed as things progress, but I can tell ya right now, with my work schedule and the family life, progress will be slow at best.
1965 chevy malibu ss FOR SALE
1982 yamaha vision 550 SOLD
2011 dodge charger DD

Purpleskunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement